

# Criminal Justice Studies Summer 2015



## Honoring Mrs. Porter

In December 2014, Mrs. Dori Porter retired after serving for nearly 30 years in the Criminal Justice Studies Program. From 1986 until 2006, Mrs. Porter worked alongside Dr. Susette Talarico as the Criminal Justice Studies' office manager and administrative specialist, playing a pivotal role in the successful growth of this interdisciplinary degree program.

In 2006, Mrs. Porter assumed the position of internship coordinator. Over the next nine years, she would work with 700-plus students on internship placements that provide a capstone experience and a strong foundation for a postgraduate career. Her perseverance and sense of optimism fostered strong institutional ties with officials in sponsoring agencies.

Perceptive and patient, Mrs.
Porter provided individualized
quidance to each student through

the internship placement process. She continued to stay in touch with students long after they graduated from the program, sending notes of encouragement and congratulations to criminal justice alumni.

In post-graduation assessments of the Program, criminal justice majors have made a point to write in comments saying "thank you, Mrs. Porter" for her support and assistance. In recognition of her service, an anonymous donor has made an initial gift to establish the Dori Porter Fund for Professional Development at the University of Georgia. If the fund meets a threshold level, awards will be made to provide internship stipends for students, cover costs to conduct professional development workshops, including networking events.



#### Susette Talarico lecture

Professor Victor Rios delivered the 6<sup>th</sup> annual lecture on March 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2015. A former gang member who later became a gang prevention counselor, Rios earned his PhD from UC-Berkeley before joining the faculty at UC-Santa Barbara. His talk focused on the role of juvenile crime policies in shaping the lives of urban youth.





### Susette M. Talarico public service leadership award

Senior Keller Shepard received the Talarico public service leadership award for 2015. This award and the lecture are supported by the Susette M. Talarico fund, established by Dr. T's former students, family, and friends. . From 1984-2006, Dr. Talarico served as director of the CJSP. Known for her innovative approach to teaching and mentoring, she served as the driving force in the development of the criminal justice degree. Keller was recognized for his efforts in contributing to the Athens community.



# Sherry Lyons-Williams Scholarship Fund. Established in 2001 by friends and family of Sherry LyonsWilliams, a UGA graduate and Atlanta police officer killed in the line of duty, this fund awarded two scholarships during the 20142015 year to Samantha Cadet and Markyshia Reynolds.

For more information on the Criminal Justice Studies Program, including how to contribute to scholarship funds, provide internship opportunities, and other support for the Program, please visit us at

Cjstudies.uga.edu/



#### Blasingame Scholars In '14, the

Program received a \$10,000 donation from the Society of Former Agents of the FBI in memory of Jim Blasingame, a former FBI agent who served over 32 years, including SAC in the Atlanta office. This donation, made to the James T. Morris Fund, permitted the award of ten scholarship stipends to students. Six recipients above are pictured alongside Mrs. Alma Blasingame, William Hinshaw, and Ron Webb. The average GPA for the Blasingame scholars selected for 2015-2016 is over 3.5. Their internship plans are far-ranging, to include the GBI, the USDOJ, state probation, public defender, district attorney, and ACC Police Department.





Outstanding seniors Michael Breaugh and Janyl Ventura



For two decades, with donor support, the CJSP has held a banquet honoring majors who will be graduating in that year. Above: Seniors recognized for academic excellence. One-third of CJ majors graduated with at least a 3.5. Below: Mike Kraft, Director of Probations for Georgia gave the commencement message.







Above (middle): Anna Sanders, recipient of the McCarthy scholarship

Above (below): Criminal Justice service awards to Michael Breaugh, Thomas Dangle, Robert Borkhuis, and Meghan Komdat